Description

Nd YAG laser is used for the treatment of vascular lesions (spider leg veins; angiomas ; ruby type) and in some instances, veins visible on the corner of the nose. It is effective on the vessels of one or two millimeter in diameter, which corresponds to almost all visible vascular lesions. For larger diameter vessels (varicose veins), surgical treatment will be needed.

Effective and well tolerated, vein laser treatments require 4-8 sessions in principle, depending on the type of lesions and their indication.

After the sessions, redness and possibly some bruising may occur at the point of flashing, since the blood vessels will rupture due to the rising heat of the laser (energy capture by the hemoglobin in red blood cells). There is a risk of discoloration for darker skin tones.

These side effects do not interfere with every day activities. However you should refrain from extreme sports and steam rooms (sauna, hammam) immediately after the session.

Procedure

A NdYag Laser session for the leg veins lasts 20-50 minutes depending on the size of the area to be treated and the number of pulses required. You are comfortably lying during the whole session, medical laser eyewear protects your eyes.

We use neither cold nor anaesthetic, to avoid contracting the vessels before treatment. The NdYag laser emits short, intense pulses that cause destruction of blood vessels. The light ray is set so as to be captured by the hemoglobin of the red blood cells contained in the vessels. The energy captured transforms into heat which will cauterize the vessels and enable them to resorb.

Veins having different depth, width and/or colour, the laser technician will adjust the settings of the NdYag during the session, the aim being to obtain an immediate "erasing" of the vein on the surface.

The flash is slightly sensitive, especially at the knees or ankles, and you can massage or use a cold roller after the laser treatment, bringing immediate relief. A soothing cream is also welcome at the end of the session.

Side effects These treatments have few side effects, apart from a discrete local inflammatory reaction (redness) or the appearance of small, benign hematomas or crusts. These are all temporary and disappear on their own.

In general, skin type I-III supports laser treatments better than an IV-VI phototypes. Indeed, our experience shows the risk of reactions is increased with dark skin, as well as increased risk of localized depigmentation or pigmentation after a laser treatment. For this reason, we prefer to carry out a preliminary test for dark skin.

Recommendations

Avoid direct sun exposure (natural or solarium) 3 weeks before and 3 weeks after a NdYag laser treatment.

Heat (hammam, sauna, hot baths) should be avoided during the 4 days following each session (risk of excessive dilation of the vessels).

Sports are not recommended (running, fitness, cycling, etc.) for 48 hours following a treatment of the leg veins with NdYag laser.

Eventual hematoma or oedema will be soothed by the application of an anti-inflammatory cream or a cooling gel.

Post-procedure makeup is allowed 24 hours after a NdYag laser session.

Repetition

The same area can be treated again at the earliest after four weeks. However, most repeat treatments take place after 6-8 weeks in order to allow time for the vessels to reconstitute and any marks to subside.

The number of sessions varies from person to person. Each session brings an improvement, with fewer unattractive vessels remaining after each treatment.

Contraindications

As a precaution, we do not practice laser cosmetic care for pregnant women, children, black or recently tanned skins, nor shall we treat suspected lesions on skin, or a person having suffered from skin cancer in the past.

Any prior treatment that could potentially interact with skin permeability or skin regeneration capacity should be avoided before NdYag laser treatment.

People who have extremely fragile skin or tend to suffer from post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation should avoid this treatment.

Roaccutan, St. John's Wort, anti-inflammatory drugs and anticoagulants, as well as any medications at risk of photosensitization are contraindicated.

Before / After

Description

Le laser Nd YAG s'utilise pour le traitement des lésions vasculaires (veines des jambes ou angiomes de type rubis ou angiomes-plan) et éventuellement la couperose et les veines du nez. Il est efficace sur les vaisseaux d'un millimètre de diamètre, ce qui permet de traiter presque toutes les lésions vasculaires visibles. Pour les vaisseaux de plus grand diamètre (varices), le traitement sera plutôt chirurgical.

C'est un traitement efficace et bien toléré, nécessitant 4 à 8 séances en principe, selon le type de lésions et l'indication.

Ce traitement ne se pratique pas en été (exposition solaire interdite).

Après les séances, des rougeurs et éventuellement des petits hématomes peuvent apparaître au point de flashage, car les vaisseaux vont éclater sous l'effet de la montée de chaleur du laser (captage de l'énergie par l'hémoglobine contenue dans les globules rouges). Cet effet ne gêne pas pour les activités de tous les jours.

Déroulement de la séance

Une séance de Laser NdYag pour les veines des jambes dure 20-50 minutes selon la dimension de la zone à traiter et le nombre d'impulsions nécessaires. Vous êtes confortablement allongé(e) durant la séance, des lunettes de protection pour laser médical protègent vos yeux.

Nous n’utilisons pas de froid ni d’anesthésiant, pour éviter de contracter les vaisseaux avant le traitement. Le laser NdYag émet des impulsions brèves et intenses qui engendrent une destruction des vaisseaux sanguins. Le rayon lumineux est réglé de façon à être capté par l’hémoglobine des globules rouges contenus dans les vaisseaux, qui vont ainsi se cautériser suite à la transformation en chaleur de l’énergie captée. Les petits vaisseaux vont alors être résorbés.

Chaque vaisseau étant plus ou moins profond, large ou coloré, la technicienne laser ajustera les réglages du NdYag pendant la séance, le but étant d’obtenir un « effacement » immédiat de la veine en surface plutôt que son éclatement.

Le flash est légèrement sensible, surtout au niveau des genoux ou des chevilles, et l’on peut masser ou utiliser un roller froid après le passage du laser pour apporter un soulagement immédiat. Une crème calmante est également la bienvenue en fin de séance.

Effets secondaires

Ces traitements ont peu d’effets secondaires, en dehors d’une discrète réaction inflammatoire locale (rougeurs transitoires) ou l’apparition de petits hématomes ou croûtes, bénins et temporaires. Les marques partent d’elles-mêmes.

En règle générale la peau de type I-III supporte le mieux les traitements laser qu’un phototype IV-VI. En effet, nous avons constaté que le risque de réactions est augmenté avec la peau foncée, ainsi que le risque de dépigmentation ou de pigmentation localisée après un traitement au laser. Pour cette raison, nous préférons effectuer un test préalable pour les peaux foncées.

Recommandations

Il faut éviter l’exposition directe au soleil (naturel ou solarium) 3 semaines avant et 3 semaines après un traitement de laser NdYag.

Les fortes chaleurs (hammam, sauna, bains très chauds) sont à éviter pendant les 4 jours qui suivent chaque séance (risque de trop forte dilatation des vaisseaux).

Le sport est déconseillé (course, fitness, vélo, etc.) durant les 48 heures suivant un traitement des veines des jambes au laser NdYag.

En cas d’hématome ou œdème, l’application d’une crème anti-inflammatoire ou un gel calmant sera utile.

Le maquillage en post-intervention est autorisé 24 heures après une séance de laser NdYag.

Répétition

La même zone de la peau peut être retraitée au plus tôt après quatre semaines. Toutefois les traitements ont lieu la plupart du temps toutes les 6-8 semaines afin de laisser le temps aux vaisseaux de se reconstituer et à toute marque éventuelle de disparaître entre deux séances.

Le nombre de séances varie d’une personne à l’autre. A chaque séance, il y a de moins en moins de vaisseaux visibles.

Contre-indications

Par précaution, nous ne pratiquons pas de soins esthétiques laser pour les femmes enceintes, les enfants, les peaux noires ou récemment bronzées. Nous ne traiterons pas des lésions suspectes sur la peau, ni une personne ayant eu un cancer de la peau.

Tout traitement préalable qui pourrait potentiellement interagir avec la perméabilité cutanée ou la capacité de régénération de la peau sont à proscrire avant un traitement laser NdYag.

Les personnes qui ont une peau extrêmement fragile ou ayant tendance aux hyper-pigmentations post-inflammatoires devraient renoncer à ce traitement.

Le Roaccutan, le millepertuis, les anti-inflammatoires et les anticoagulants, ainsi que tout médicament à risque de photosensibilisation sont contre-indiqués.

Avant / Après